Go back to all Events
Joe Fonda Trio

Joe Fonda Trio

Item Not On Sale

About the Yardbird Suite

The Yardbird Suite has been Edmonton's jazz venue since 1957.  It is the performance venue of the Edmonton Jazz Society, and is  an intimate,…

Read More
From New York and Italy

Joe Fonda - bass
Carlo Morena - piano
Felix Lecaros - drums

Doors at 7:00 p.m.; Show at 8:00 p.m.

Visit our HTML tutorial

Joe Fonda is a composer, bassist, recording artist, interdisciplinary performer, producer and educator.

An accomplished international jazz artist, Fonda has performed with his own ensembles throughout the world. He has collaborated and performed with such artists as Archie Shepp, Lou Donaldson, Kenny Barron, Wadada Leo Smith, Dave Douglas, Curtis Fuller, Bill Dixon, Han Bennink, Randy Weston, Gebhard Ullmann, Carla Bley, Barry Altschul, and Billy Bang.

Fonda was also the bassist with the renowned Anthony Braxton sextet, octet, and tentet from 1984 through 1999.

Italian pianist Carlo Morena leads two piano trios, one European and the other being the New York-based Step In Trio which he created in 1994 with bassist Joe Fonda and drummer Jeff Hirshfield. George Schuller later assumed the drum chair. This trio has performed at the Yardbird Suite on a couple of occasions with Edmontonian Dan Skakun taking the drum chair.

Among the musicians Carlo has worked with are many who have performed at the Yardbird Suite including bassist Joe Fonda, trumpeter Kenny Wheeler, saxophonists Dave Liebman, Steve Slagle, Thomas Chapin, and Gary Smulyan, bassoonist Michael Rabinowitz, vocalist Jay Clayton, and guitarists John Abercrombie and Kurt Rosenwinkel.

Few Chilean jazz musicians have at such a young age become soloists deemed as essential listening among their peers as drummer Félix Lecaros over the past decade. His style emulates his idols including Philly Joe Jones, Elvin Jones and Tony Williams.

He has performed with international musicians such as Wynton Marsalis, Danilo Pérez, Sheryl Bailey, Stanley Clarke, Bruce Barth, Mike Stern, Dennis Chambers, Aaron Goldberg, Jorge Rossy, Gilad Hekselman, Seamus Blake, and many others.

Tickets - $24.00 for EJS members; $28.00 for non-members/guests, plus applicable fees. Members will be reimbursed at the door.

Date & Times